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Estimate of Fiscal Impact 
 FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 
State Expenditure   

General Fund $0 $0 
Other and Federal $0 $0 
Full-Time Equivalent Position(s) 0.00 0.00 

State Revenue   
General Fund $0 Undetermined 
Other and Federal $0 $0 

Local Expenditure $0 $0 
Local Revenue $0 $0 

 
Fiscal Impact Summary 
This bill will have no expenditure impact on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds as 
the bill requires the Department of Insurance (DOI) and the Department of Consumer Affairs to 
perform activities within the normal course of agency business.  The bill may increase General 
Fund revenue beginning in FY 2019-20 because violations of the newly created South Carolina 
Insurance Data Security Act are subject to penalties.  However, the amount is undetermined as 
data is not available to estimate the number violations that will occur under the newly enacted 
section.   

Explanation of Fiscal Impact 

Signed by Governor on May 3, 2018 
This bill adds Chapter 99 to Title 38 to enact the South Carolina Insurance Data Security Act.  
The bill authorizes the DOI director to promulgate regulations necessary for the administration 
of this new chapter.  The bill requires insurers, insurance brokers, and insurance producers to 
develop, implement, and maintain a comprehensive written information security program that 
contains administrative, technical, and physical safeguards for the protection of nonpublic 
information.  The program should be based on a licensee’s risk assessment and be designed to 
protect the security and confidentiality of nonpublic information, protect against threats or 
hazards to the security or integrity of nonpublic information, protect against unauthorized access 
to or use of nonpublic information, and define and periodically reevaluate a schedule for 
retention of nonpublic information.  A licensee domiciled in this state must submit a written 
statement annually to the DOI director no later than February 15 certifying that the insurer is in 
compliance with the requirements of this bill.  If the licensee learns that a cybersecurity event 
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has occurred or may have occurred, the licensee, an outside vendor, or service provider 
designated to act on behalf of the licensee must conduct a prompt investigation of the event.  A 
licensee must notify the DOI director no later than seventy-two hours after determining that a 
cybersecurity event has occurred if it meets either of two requirements:  1) South Carolina is the 
licensee’s state of domicile in the case of an insurer or the licensee’s home state in the case of a 
producer; or 2) the licensee reasonably believes that the nonpublic information involved is of no 
less than 250 consumers residing in this state and the cybersecurity event meets certain criteria.  
A licensee must comply with the notice requirements of Section 39-1-90 and any other 
applicable law and provide a copy of the notice sent to consumers to the director of DOI when 
the licensee is required to notify the director.  Licensees who violate the provisions of this bill 
are subject to penalties as provided in Section 38-2-10.  Licensees with fewer than ten 
employees, an employee agent, representative or designee of a licensee who is also a licensee, 
and licensees subject to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, Pub. L. 104-
191, 110 Stat. 1936 are exempt from the provisions of this bill.  Further, licensees have until July 
1, 2019, to implement Section 38-99-20 of this bill, which requires licensees to develop, 
implement, and maintain the information security program.  Licensees have until July 1, 2020, to 
implement Section 38-99-20(F) of this bill, which requires licensees to exercise due diligence in 
selecting its third-party service providers and requires a third-party provider to implement secure 
information systems.  
 
Department of Insurance.  DOI indicates that the bill requires the agency to perform activities 
within the normal course of agency business.  Therefore, the bill will have no expenditure impact 
on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds.  
 
Department of Consumer Affairs.  This bill requires insurance licensees to comply with the 
consumer notification requirements imposed under Section 39-1-90.  The department indicates 
that Section 39-1-90 continues to apply to all individuals and organizations conducting business 
in the state.  The bill does not alter the responsibilities of the department and will therefore have 
no expenditure impact on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds. 

State Revenue 
The bill requires insurers, insurance brokers, and insurance producers to develop, implement, and 
maintain a comprehensive written information security program based on the licensee’s risk 
assessment that contains administrative, technical, and physical safeguards for the protection of 
nonpublic information.  Licensees must comply with the notice requirements pursuant to Section 
39-1-90.  Licensees who violate the provisions of this bill are subject to penalties as provided in 
Section 38-2-10.   
 
Section 39-1-90(H), which pertains to noncompliance of notice requirements regarding breach of 
security of business data, allows an administrative fine in the amount of $1,000 per resident 
whose information was accessible by reason of breach.  Section 39-1-90(H) includes individuals 
or organizations who conduct business in this state and own, license, or maintain computerized 
data or other data that includes personal identifying information.  Since Section 39-1-90 
continues to apply to all individuals and organizations in this state, this portion of the bill will 
have no revenue impact on the General Fund, Other Funds, or Federal Funds.   
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A licensee who violates the provisions of this bill is subject to penalties as provided in Section 
38-2-10.  The administrative fine ranges from an amount not to exceed $15,000 to an amount not 
to exceed $30,000 if the violator is an insurer or a health maintenance organization.  The 
administrative fine ranges from an amount not to exceed $2,500 to an amount not to exceed 
$5,000 if the violator is a person, other than an insurer or a health maintenance organization.  
These penalties are in addition to any criminal penalties provided by law or any other remedies 
provided by law.  Also, the administrative proceedings do not preclude civil or criminal 
proceedings from taking place before, during, or after the administrative proceeding.  These 
administrative penalties are credited to the General Fund.  Based upon data provided by the 
Department of Consumer Affairs, there were approximately nine security breach notices reported 
in this state by insurance companies in 2016.  Data is not available to determine the number of 
breaches that occurred due to an entity not having a comprehensive information security program 
in place.  Therefore, the increase in General Fund revenue beginning in FY 2019-20 due to 
additional administrative fines for violations pursuant to Section 38-2-10 is undetermined.  

Local Expenditure 
N/A 

Local Revenue 
N/A 
 
 
 


